Home > Uncategorized > Upcoming Appearance in Washington DC area

Upcoming Appearance in Washington DC area

UPDATE: This event now confirmed for Thu Oct 02 at 7 p.m.

Hi everyone: I’ll be speaking on a panel with a few other Lonely Planet authors at a Borders Bookstore in the Washington D.C. area sometime during the first week of October. Unfortunately, I don’t have many details to share about the event just yet. I do know that Borders is sponsoring the event in a partnership with the AARP, however, so it’s quite likely we’ll be discussing topics of interest to senior-aged travelers. I imagine we’ll discuss ways to travel safely while abroad, for instance. 

My particular appearance will be scheduled for either Oct. 1, 2 or 7 (I’ll be sure to post again as soon as the date is set in stone), and the panel will be kicking off around 7 p.m. at the Kensington, Maryland store. Here’s the street address, for those of you who’s like to Mapquest it: 11301 ROCKVILLE PIKE, KENSINGTON, MD 20895

Incidentally, Avalon Travel Publishing had me tentatively scheduled me to do a series of talks this summer at Borders Bookstores in Pittsburgh and Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. I ended up spending the majority of this summer on assignment in New England and the Philippines, so those dates got pushed back a time or two. But if we happen to reschedule for sometime in the fall, I’ll let you know. If that should happen, I’ll be talking about the many unknown tourist attractions in the city of Pittsburgh during those events, and I’ll be promoting my own Avalon guidebook, Moon Handbooks Pittsburgh.

Moon Handbooks Pittsburgh, by the way, was recently nominated for a 2008 Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Award. The awards are scheduled to be announced this year at the annual Society of American Travel Writers conference in Houston, on October 18. Keep your fingers crossed for me…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

