Home > Uncategorized > Off to the Philippines

Off to the Philippines

This is just a really quick note to let anyone who may be interested know where I’ll be – and when – over the next four or five weeks. The short version is that I’ll be leaving for Philadelphia International tomorrow morning, and I’ll be spending the following month in the Philippines. I’m updating the “Manila” and “Around Manila” chapters for the next edition of Lonely Planet’s Philippines travel guide – I’m pretty sure it’s the 10th edition. And thanks to my very kind coordinating author, GB, who happens to live in Manila with his family, I’ve managed to secure accommodation for myself in an actual real house! I’ll be staying somewhere in central Manila, and watching over six cats for a Canadian family of four (or maybe five?) who are going on vacation for a month… or something like that. I spoke on the phone – briefly – with the man of the house, and he seems like a great guy. He’s even offered to pick me up from the airport in Manila, and that seems to me like a sign that this is going to be a wonderfully relaxed and (hopefully) rewarding trip.

And by the way, if any Manilia- or Philippines-based journalists, travel writers or guidebook authors are reading this, please feel free to get in touch. I don’t know anyone in town, and I’m more than happy to buy you a beer or two (or lunch, or whatever) in exchange for a bit of up-to-date insider-info. Shoot me an email at: dan@youngpioneers.com. I’ll be getting a phone with a local number once I arrive, and I’ll probably be posting that number here, so check back in a few days if you’re interested. In fact, if you’re a Manila-based expat, artist, PR person – or whatever – and you’d like to get together at a cafe or something to talk about local politics or what not, I’d love to hear from you as well. Get in touch at that same email address, above.

Finally, if I manage to get all my work done early, I’m planning on rewarding myself with a 5- or 7-day trip to either Beijing or Shanghai… or possibly Jakarta, during the trip’s fifth week. We’ll see how that goes…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

