Home > Uncategorized > Back from Connecticut

Back from Connecticut

Carrie and I finally made it home yesterday evening after driving at a maddening crawl along I-95 through rain so heavy we could barely see more than 30 or 40 feet in front of our car’s windshield.

And yet all things considered, the trip was a raging success. Naturally, there were more than a few worthwhile sights we weren’t able to get to because of my infuriating time-crunch: I’m leaving home again in about eight days to board a flight to Manila, where I’ll be working on an update of the 10th edition of Lonely Planet’s Philippines guide.

This is almost a first for me, by the way: Aside from the two or three months when I had to put my Moon Handbooks Pittsburgh manuscript aside in order to research a few chapters for Lonely Planet Turkey, I’ve never had two guidebook projects to take care of simultaneously. And yet oddly enough, I’m not all that stressed out. Although I certainly should be – the work I’m attempting to juggle here is hardly easy. The simple fact of the matter is that if I’m actually going to get both manuscripts turned in on time, I’m probably also going to have to manipulate some sort of twisting and/or bending of the time-space continuum.

Thankfully though, I’ve been studying time management techniques for months now. I’ve always been something of a procrastinator, and over the past year or so, it’s started to become glaringly obvious to me that if I could simply beat my procrastination habits once and for all, and if I could finally begin to start taking full control of my daily 24 hours, I could easily accomplish incredible things. Which is why a couple months back, I picked up a copy of David Allen’s Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity, and even though I’m working my way through the book slowly, I’ve picked up a huge number of tips already.

And then, just before heading off to Connecticut, I did a little bit of research on Philly-area life coaches. I ended up having an hour-long phone consultation with one, and the guy ended up being a huge Tony Robbins fan – my kind of guy, in other words. So whenever I finally manage to put both of these horrifying piles of work behind me, I’ll be getting together with him to talk even more about the lost art of bending time. Can’t wait to see what happens.  

new_england_tripsIn the meantime, I’ll be sitting in front of my laptop for about 15 hours a day throughout the next week, so if anyone is interested in getting in touch, please do so now – I won’t have a lot of time to talk once I’m on the other side of the world. And do check back here for occasional updates; I’m planning on re-experiencing bits of the Connecticut and Cape Cod trips via blog posts whenever the urge to procrastinate becomes too strong to ignore. The photo at the very top of this post, for instance, represents one of the Connecticut trip’s highlights: the very unusual Timexpo Museum in Waterbury, which is the Timex corporate museum. When I was doing my Connecticut state research prior to leaving home, I kept hearing and reading about the massive Easter Island head that sat on the grounds of the museum, although no one seemed to know exactly why the thing was there, or what its association to the Timex company was. So when I visited the museum, I asked, as responsible guidebook authors are wont to do.

As it happens, the ScandinavianTimex CEO was good friends with Thor Heyerdahl, the Norwegien author of Kon-Tiki – he also “discovered” Easter Island during his expedition. A decent portion of the Timexpo Museum, in fact, is essentially a Thor Heyerdahl exhibit, making it the perfect stop for international travel enthusiasts. Who knew?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

