Home > Uncategorized > Marriage Without Monogamy, Part Four

Marriage Without Monogamy, Part Four

My fourth essay in the “Marriage Without Monogamy” series went live on the Tango Magazine website a few days back. And this is interesting: In an especially smart and cunning effort to up my readership stats, the editors have apparently changed the essay’s title from “Marriage Without Monogamy, Part Four” to “Open Relationship Dos and Don’ts: Is it still an open relationship if you’re restricted by a long list of rules?”

And just in case you’re wondering what’s so brilliant about all that, the answer’s simple: Any-damn-thing posted online that contains the term “open relationship” is practically guaranteed instant popularity. Seriously. Actual editors of actual online magazines have said as much. And yet sadly, this entry in the MWM series has not yet been picked up by the Huffington Post, as my first, second, and third pieces were. I suppose it’s still possible that’ll happen sometime this week, especially given the story’s new SEO-friendly title. I’ll post a note here if that happens.   

And speaking of the Huffington Post, I’m putting together my first piece for them today. It’s about the current changing nature of marriage and relationships, which is more or less the same general ground I’ll be covering in all my future HuffPost pieces. Assuming this one goes over well and they ask me back, that is. Wish me luck!

Oh yeah guess what? The lovely and talented sex journalist/educator Tristan Taormino gave me a little shout-out on the website for her new book about creating and sustaining open relationships, “Opening Up” (Cleis Press).

  1. December 20, 2010 at 12:49 AM

    “Seriously. Actual editors of actual online magazines have said as much. And yet sadly, this entry in the MWM series has not yet been picked up by the Huffington Post, as my first, second, and third pieces were. I suppose it’s still possible that’ll happen sometime this week, especially given the story’s new SEO-friendly title. I’ll post a note here if that happens.”
    Intresting. I would like details!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

