Home > Uncategorized > Having Our Cake & Eating It Too

Having Our Cake & Eating It Too

carrie_dan.jpg

Now that I actually have a chance to sit back and think about it, I guess I always did expect the Marriage Without Monogamy column I’ve been writing for Tango to hit a few nerves. But I honestly didn’t expect to see the level of interest I’m seeing now. I can thank the Huffington Post, I suppose, for my first hint that this thing was going to be big. Someone there posted excerpts of my first two essays on the front page of the site’s Living section, and boy did the hate mail ever flow. I don’t think I managed to accomplish more than five or 10 minutes of work on the day I noticed that the Huff Post had picked the column up — I must have refreshed my browser a hundred times before I realized the work day was just about over, and all I had to show for it was a sore index finger. The thiong is, it’s just such an absolutely surreal feeling to sit by helplessly as perfect strangers tell the world how and why you are such a vile, nasty creature. Sigh.

(Update: An excerpt from the third Marriage Without Monogamy column just went live on the Huffington Post under the title, Open Relationships: What the World Needs Now?)

All that attention on the Huffington Post did turn into something bigger and more positive, however: I heard from an editor, who informed me that the excerpts of my Tango essays were actually clocking some of the site’s highest hit numbers. She also kindly invited me to start writing about Sex & Relationships for the site’s Living section, so as soon as I can come up with a few decent ideas, I’ll put together my first Huffington Post piece, and I’ll be sure to link to that essay here.  

Even more exciting than all that was the press the column got this morning on the Daily Bedpost, a Conde Nast blog written by Em & Lo  — you’ve probably read their Mating column in New York magazine. My good friend and amateur photographer Paul Severin did a photo-shoot with Carrie and me this past weekend specifically for the Daily Bedpost mention, and the picture above is the shot they used for the site. Ever since the post went live this morning, I’ve been telling people that the photo reminds me of the cover art on Fatboy Slim’s Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars, which sort of existentially describes where Carrie and are living these days…       

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 25, 2008 at 6:33 PM

Leave a Reply

