Home > Uncategorized > Life lessons from Kimora Lee Simmons

Life lessons from Kimora Lee Simmons

October 15, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

baby.jpg

My latest television obsession? The Style Network’s Life in the Fab Lane, a reality series about the sometimes-infuriating-but-always-entertaining life of entrepreneur (and proud mother) Kimora Lee Simmons. The basic premise of the show is that Kimora has quite a lot going for her these days. Aside from being a former Karl Lagerfeld runway model (and still drop-dead gorgeous at the age of 32), she’s also the former wife of Russell Simmons–he’s the founder of Def Jam Records who is probably best known today as the undisuted godfather of hip-hop culture. During the couple’s marriage, Russell launched Baby Phat, an urban fashion company often described as the “corporate sibling” of Russell’s Phat Farm brand. Kimora acts as the public face of Baby Phat, and she and Russell have somehow managed to continue on as relatively amiable business partners, if not life partners.        

The first time I saw Kimora’s show, only five or ten minutes had passed before I was tempted to post something nasty about what a horrible, mean person she obviously is. This woman has the rich-bitch personality thing down to a perfect science, and if there’s anything I hate in the business world, it’s seeing privileged folks treating the less fortunate without respect. And that’s exactly what Kimora seemed to be doing every thirty seconds or so on her show.

But then another episode aired, and then one more came on after that, and before I knew it, it was the middle of the afternoon and I was still wearing my pyjamas and drinking bad coffee. I was hooked. And that’s because after a couple more 30-minute stints with Kimora, I finally got it: She’s not so much a horrible person as she is a person who lives her life under the constant scrutiny of the public eye, and has managed to develop something of an oddball sense of humor as a way of dealing with the inevitable stress. From what I can tell, the woman actually has a very healthy sense of humor. Better than being like Britney.

But not everyone in the fashion world agrees with that conclusion. I did a quick Google search that turned up all sorts of gossipy bits about K-Sims. Check out this fantastic feature from New York magazine, for instance, which is titled Kimora Lee Simmons, the New Queen of Conspicuous Consumption. (Ouch!) Here are a few more interesting pieces from various blogs and the MSM alike. Enjoy! >>>

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. misha
    February 22, 2009 at 3:52 AM

    i love Kimora.i admire the way she runs her household, her children, her company and her life..she has an iron hand but everything she does turns into magic.she may be strict and hard on others and herself but oh well, i would be too when i run an empire like hers..

  2. gisèle_mamie
    January 22, 2009 at 10:20 AM

    hello ,just for to tell u,i love u so much,i,m a congolese from congo/kinshasa,why can i do for begining your friend???????? you inspired me,you beautiful girl,and brave women so i kiss u
    your,s gisèle_mamie

    my contact 00243 998846595

    BYE

  3. Elizabeth Sumo
    November 14, 2008 at 6:36 PM

    Wow Kimora u are so beautiful i wish i could be like u some day i always watch your video Kimora life in the fab lan. your two girls are so cute i wish they were friend with me O M G i love every thing about u my biggest dream is to be like u one day.i live Minnesota u can please Emai me on shinnitra@yahoo.com i will like to here from u please tell the girls hi and i love them BYE!!!!!!!

  4. Karissa
    October 18, 2008 at 1:56 PM

    Kimora is a straight forward tell it like it is whether you want to hear it or not. You either love people like that or you hate them, there is usually no in between. AND I LOVE IT! Everything she does is sassy, from the clothes, to the cars, to the kids. They have class, sass, and plenty of cash, watch out!

  5. rachel
    September 10, 2008 at 11:14 AM

    shut up biotch

  6. August 30, 2008 at 7:40 AM

    bonjour j’ aime beaucoups ce que tu fais

    tes filles sont vraiment très belle

  7. Bria
    June 21, 2008 at 1:18 PM

    hello this Bria ! I am going to your hometown ! And i might stop by the pizza place you went to !

  8. Bria
    June 21, 2008 at 1:16 PM

    hello again, This is Bria Taylor . What age did you become a model ?

  9. Bria
    June 21, 2008 at 1:09 PM

    Hello Kimora Simmons. I am Bria Taylor I am 13 years old I am getting to a modeling school ! I am just saying you are my idol! please reach back on my email runwaymodel@yahoo.com . If you dont reach back i understand to reach back a child like me ! I were colthing line all the time babyphat !

  10. Carine
    June 15, 2008 at 11:22 AM

    Hello,
    Just a question, i saw your reality show, and i saw the work you do with your yoga teacher. I’m a yoga teacher as well and i would like to be able to join him to ask any questions on his practice, i saw many things i would like to integrate in my practice. Thanks for your time and your answer.
    Carine

  11. taty
    March 13, 2008 at 6:46 PM

    kimora i want to be a fashion designer just like you . you are my favorite fashion designers in the whole world. i really love fashion and style and one day i really hope to have a clothing line just like yours.baby phat is the best clothing line ever i love it

    Tatyana

  12. alex diaz
    March 9, 2008 at 10:18 PM

    Hello Kimora Lee Simons:

    My name is Alex Díaz, I am of Durango, Mexico, have 20 years of age.

    I see your reallity, I am charmed with it her since like you are, since you live through your life, which you do and as like you it do.

    Good the principal reason of writing itself is to request employment you jajaja … I would like to work for you for whom you are so fashion and glamorous and have a great personality.

    I am a model and the things are not going out for me very well here in Mexico, I have not had work in a lot of time. I AM CHARMED WITH IT HIM THE MODELAJE is my life, I it do good but I think that opportunities have not been given me to demonstrate my talent.

    I am light brown, eyes color coffee(café), broken hair, thin complexion, my stature is of 1.70.

    In these moments of my life I am studying my second year administration in the faculty(power) of accountancy and administration (fca) this is in torreon Coahuila, to 30 minutes of my city.

    I am experienced as assistant(attendee) am good to know what the people want and as it he, it wants, in addition I am very responsible, am honest, intelligently and very energetically, beside being an extrovert and very sociably.

    Good if you are interested in my work, already be like a model or as assistant(attendee) make it know me to send my curriculum or my portfolio.

    My mail is aldi.44@hotmail.com

    Regards

    Attentivly

    Alex Díaz.

  13. shakeema maye
    March 5, 2008 at 8:34 AM

    hey i love to style

  14. Ronnie tan
    February 19, 2008 at 11:00 PM

    Hello Kimora,

    Ever since your ‘live in the fab lane’ started screening in our TV in Malaysia- I have got hooked to it! Everytime I watch it I am going like ‘wow’ you are fabulous and your smile is so refreshingly sexy, warmth,genuine and fresh all rolled into that one smile- I love it!

    Ronnie- malaysian chinese

  15. February 8, 2008 at 6:11 PM

    I NEED TO KNOW DO U HAVE LESS PRICE CHOLTHING

  16. Viarnie
    January 21, 2008 at 6:17 PM

    Man Kimora You Are So Beautiful i wish i was as pretty as you.I watch your Kimora Lee Simmons Life In THe Fab Lane all the time its just so exciting.And your Children Are so gorgeous like there Mother i would love to become a model like you.peece out from you biggest fan Viarnie,12.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

