Home > Uncategorized > Do you work from a home office? Read this.

Do you work from a home office? Read this.

September 8, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I haven’t yet found myself too terribly impressed by Wired magazine’s How-To Wiki, a brilliant idea that unfortunately has not quite managed to live up to its obvious potential. And yet I recommend giving it a glance regardless, because it’s quite possible, of course, that many of the articles I found dull (not useful, in other words), might be just the thing you’re looking for.

And vice-versa.

For instance: I’m a self-employed journalist and publisher who works from a home office, and because procrastination is an issue I’ve been battling for years, I am always on the lookout for decent time-management tips. So naturally, it was a no-brainer that I might appreciate a post aiming to explain How To Actually Work From Home When You Work From Home.

I’ll be honest here: The advice hardly altered the course of my life. Although it didn’t necessarily disappoint, either. Personally, I was partial to Tip Number Four: Create Small Deadlines. “Avoid procrastination by setting mini deadlines to break up your day and instill urgency in your tasks,” it reads. As it happens, I try this trick on a fairly regular basis, and as long as I can manage to stay disciplined and not cheat on myself, it works quite well. The idea–and I’ve read this in countless career-advice type books for freelancers–is to create small rewards for yourself, which you’re only allowed to redeem after completing a given task.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 7, 2007 at 7:32 PM

    Thanks Josh, I like that idea quite a lot – the idea of scheduling rewards, that is. I’ll have to give it a try.

  2. jkrist
    October 5, 2007 at 6:27 PM

    Nice post. I wouldn’t get a thing done if it weren’t for my little daily to-do list. Instead of having “rewards” per se I schedule things I have to do *and* things I want to do. So, a typical daily to-do list might read:

    first draft article

    invoice whoever

    bike ride if nice out/gym if not

    2 hrs. research for next trip

    practice guitar

    hit-up sources for next story

    dishes

    play halo 3/watch the office


    I’ve done lists for a long time (b/c I have a terrible memory, and it also keeps me from feeling overwhelmed by breaking things into smaller bites) but just earlier this year discovered scheduling fun things. As a freelancer it’s easy for me to get all “Koyanasqatsi” and have my life out of balance, so this helps keep me not just in front of the computer all day–most of the time, at least.

    Oh, one other thing I discovered this year was to use the backs of old pages from the New Yorker daily calendar as my daily list–it’s nice to see the little cartoon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

