Home > Uncategorized > Pittsburgh City Paper Interview

Pittsburgh City Paper Interview

pghmoon1.jpgInteresting day today. I was interviewed by Bill O’Driscoll, the A&E editor of the Pittsburgh City Paper, about my recently published Moon Handbooks guide. Bill is an interesting guy; when I worked at the City Paper myself, I remember him always taking his interviews very seriously, and today, we must have talked for close to an hour. So I’m very much looking forward to seeing the finished piece.

I naturally have no idea what Bill’s opinion of the book is, but I’m sure the piece will be well-written if nothing else. In my opinion, the guy is one of the best arts journalists in the city. A few years back he won an award of some sort from the Association of Alternative Newsweeklies (AAN) for a feature about cage fighting; Bill has also written for The Nation.

At any rate, the City Paper piece comes out in either one or two weeks from today; I’ll be sure to post it here as soon as it shows up on the CP’s website.

I fly out of Pittsburgh International tomorrow afternoon around 4pm, and after layovers in D.C. and Frankfurt, I’ll land in Prague around 9am the following day. I don’t think I mentioned this in my previous post about the Foreign Correspondence Training Course, but one of highlights is that we’ll actually be sent out into the streets at some point to report — and then write — our own stories. All the course participants were asked to do a bit of preliminary internet research in order to come up with topic ideas and potential contacts before leaving home, and I ended up discovering that the citizens and government of the Czech Republic have been squabbling lately over whether or not prostitution should be legalized. So I’ve decided to take a look at the current prostitution situation in the city, and hopefully an interesting story will come out of it. We’ll see.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

