Home > Uncategorized > the end of the labor party?

the end of the labor party?

Hello friends. I’m afraid I received some frustrating news when I opened my laptop earlier this evening: My computer appears to be broken.

I suspected something was wrong as far back as last week, when I ate lunch at a horrible, dingy little dump in Pai known as the Hiccup Bar. I ate there for one reason only: They had a sign out front advertising wireless access. The bar’s owner was tapping away happily on her Power Book, but for some reason I couldn’t connect, even though my machine was clearly registering a connection.

This morning, I wrote for about two hours before heading out to lunch and then doing a bit of research work in the Chiang Mai guest house ghetto. But when I came back and attempted to turn on the computer again, the dreaded error message was waiting for me at the Windows log-in box. Does anyone out there have any idea what the following message means, or how to fix it?

“The system could not log you on. Make sure your user name and domain are correct, then type your password again. Letters in passwords must be typed using the correct case.”

This isn’t exactly the end of the world — I bought the machine used for about $250, and I didn’t expect it to live forever. The sad news is that I can’t really see myself sitting in internet cafes for hour upon hour and typing up blog posts while the clock ticks, and while my bill ticks right along with it. It’s true that for the most part, web access in Thailand is relatively inexpensive. But still, it’s almost impossible to write anything worthwhile when you’re literally being charged by the minute. If only my computer genius was here right now … Carrie, are you out there?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

