Home > Uncategorized > moon handbooks pittsburgh heading to the printer

moon handbooks pittsburgh heading to the printer

Got some encouraging news the other day from my good pal Elizabeth Jang, who does production work for Avalon Publishing Group, the company that will be publishing my upcoming guide to Pittsburgh. Moon Handbooks Pittsburgh, she tells me, is being transferred to the printers this Thursday. After the printer shoots the plates or sets the digital file, the bluelines come back to Avalon for a final look-through. And then a few days later, an honest-to-goodness guidebook comes right off the rolls and gets stacked onto wooden pallets or inside cardboard boxes before making its journey to the distribution company, who sends it to retailers across the country. Fascinating, no?

And just this morning I got a note from a gal by the name of Hannah Cox – she’s the person who’s organizing the book’s marketing and promo plan. Apparently quite a few review copies are going out to both regional and national media, as well as to a handful of travel-themed websites and blogs. Naturally, I’m crossing my fingers for a press fury, as I am naturally narcissistic, and secretly harbor dreams of literary fame. Sadly, however, Hannah tells me that no book signings or media appearances of any sort have been or will be scheduled, because in the company’s experience, that isn’t the sort of thing that sells books. Bummer.

But not to worry: I’m something of a public relations hobbist myself, and I plan to start working the phones as soon as I’m back in Pittsburgh, which should be sometime during the first or second week of May. In the meantime, if anyone out there in the regional area (Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Philly, Wheeling, Washington D.C., Baltimore, New York City or anywhere in Ohio) is interested in setting up an appearance, a print or broadcast interview, or any sort of lecture or talk, feel free to get in touch via email at dan@youngpioneers.com.

I can ramble on at length about the City of Pittsburgh, as well as the highs and lows of life as a guidebook author and a travel writer. I’m also ready-and-willing to do ‘How To’ talks of the journalistic bend – How to Make a Living as a Freelance Journalist; The Survival Secrets of Professional Travel Writers, etc. And as an experienced self-publisher, I can also shoot the bull with your group about how to single-handedly launch a magazine, journal or bulletin. Am I a handy guy to have around, or what?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

